Assault charges can have very serious ramifications, and if you’ve been charged with assault, you should speak with an experienced Richmond assault attorney today. Contact James A. Bullard Jr. P.C. to learn more about these charges and how our firm can help you fight them, every step of the way.
Do I Need a Richmond Assault Attorney?
Unfortunately, many arguments or disagreements are perceived as something they are not, and innocent people end up facing assault charges. In other cases, some people are charged with assault when they were only defending themselves from an attacker. In the worst cases, some people will even completely fabricate an accusation of assault. Whatever the basis of your charges, our experienced Richmond criminal defense attorney is here to fight for your rights.
Assault and Battery Defined
The words “assault” and “battery” mean two different things, though they are often coupled in the criminal charge of “assault and battery” in Virginia. Essentially, assault is when a person intentionally does something to make another person believe they are in imminent danger of harmful or offensive contact (such as a punch). However, for someone to receive an assault and battery charge, they must actually succeed in making offensive contact with the victim.
Consequences of Assault and Battery Charges in Virginia
There are a wide variety of assault and battery charges in Virginia, all of which come with their own sets of penalties, which is why it is so important that you hire an experienced Richmond assault attorney as soon as you are charged with a crime. The consequences of various assault and battery charges in Virginia are as follows:
- Simple Assault and Battery: For a simple assault and battery charge in Virginia, you will most likely face a Class 1 misdemeanor, which entails up to one year in jail and a potential $2,500 fine.
- Assault and Battery of Police and Other Government Employees: When someone assaults a police officer or another government employee, he or she will most likely face a Class 6 felony, which warrants a potential five-year prison sentence.
- Assault and Battery Based on Religion or Ethnicity: When an individual is charged with assault and battery on the basis of religion or ethnicity (essentially a hate crime), they will most likely face anywhere between one year in jail and five years in prison, as well as a potential $2,500 fine.
- Assault and Battery of Health Care Workers: If you are found guilty of the assault and battery of a health care worker while the employee was on the clock, you will face anywhere between 15 days and one year in jail.
- Assault and Battery of Teachers: Anyone who assaults a teacher, guidance counselor, or principal in Virginia will face anywhere between 15 days and one year in jail, even if the assault did not injure the teacher.
Another very common assault and battery charge is the assault and battery of a family member. To learn more about these charges, speak with our experienced Richmond domestic violence lawyer.
Contact a Richmond Assault Attorney
The bottom line is that all those who’ve been charged with assault crimes in Virginia have a lot on the line. Our firm has fought on behalf of countless individuals in your position in the past, and we are ready to fight for you as well. Contact James A. Bullard Jr. P.C. today to schedule your initial consultation with our firm.