Domestic violence allegations are very serious, and both the legal and societal consequences these charges entail warrant you speaking with a knowledgeable Richmond domestic violence attorney as soon as you can. Contact James A Bullard Jr. P.C. today to learn more about how we can help fight your charges.
Do I Need a Richmond Domestic Violence Attorney?
The consequences of a domestic violence conviction can drastically affect an individual and his or her family for years to come. This is why we strongly recommend reaching out to an experienced Richmond criminal defense attorney the moment you are charged with a crime.
Domestic Violence Defined Under Virginia Law
To start, it is worth noting that anyone can commit an act of domestic violence regardless of their gender, race, sexual orientation, and more. That being said, for an action to be considered “family abuse” or domestic violence in Virginia, it must occur between either a family or household member. This can include the following:
- A spouse
- An ex-spouse
- In-laws who reside in the same home
- People who have cohabited within the last year
- Anyone who shares a child
Consequences of a Domestic Violence Charge in Virginia
If you are accused of acting violently towards any of the aforementioned parties, Virginia law requires police to arrest you on the spot, regardless of whether you are guilty or not. From here, you will most likely have a restraining order placed against you. If you are found guilty of committing assault and battery or an act of family abuse, you will most likely face up to one year of incarceration and a potential $2,500 fine. You should note, however, if this is your third offense of this nature within three years, you will most likely face a Class 6 felony, which entails a potential five-year prison sentence.
Consequences of Stalking Charges in Virginia
Stalking is defined as the repeated act of engaging in conduct intended to instill fear of sexual assault, death, or injury in the victim. For example, one person standing in his ex’s driveway every night after being asked to leave would typically be considered an act of stalking.
If you are convicted of stalking in Virginia, you will face a Class 1 misdemeanor, for which you may face up to 12 months of incarceration and a potential $2,500 fine. The judge will also most likely issue a restraining order, prohibiting you from making contact with the individual or their household. If you are charged with a third offense within 10 years, you will most likely face a Class 6 felony, which entails a potential five-year prison sentence.
Contact a Richmond Domestic Violence Attorney
The consequences of any sort of domestic violence charge have the potential to land you in jail, which is why you mustn’t wait–contact an experienced Richmond domestic violence attorney right here at James A Bullard Jr. P.C. to schedule your initial consultation with our firm.