Fortunately, the state of Virginia wholeheartedly recognizes and observes our right to keep and bear arms, however, this does not mean that the state doesn’t carefully regulate what is acceptable and unacceptable in terms of the law. A gun crime is a very serious matter, and if you are being accused of violating Virginia’s gun laws, it is of paramount importance that you reach out to an experienced Richmond gun crimes attorney today. Contact James A. Bullard Jr. P.C. to learn more about gun crimes and how our firm can assist you.
Do I Need a Richmond Gun Crimes Attorney?
If you are currently facing gun charges, there is a very good chance that you will face jail time, high fines, and other criminal penalties that can drastically shape your life for years to come. Our Richmond criminal defense attorney is here to fight your charges at every turn.
Gun Laws in the Commonwealth of Virginia
Virginia is a staunch supporter of gun laws. In fact, the Virginia state constitutional provision, Article 1, Section 13 states, “That a well regulated militia, composed of the body of the people, trained to arms, is the proper, natural, and safe defense of a free state, therefore, the right of the people to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed; that standing armies, in time of peace, should be avoided as dangerous to liberty; and that in all cases the military should be under strict subordination to, and governed by, the civil power.”
When it comes to shotguns and rifles, citizens of Virginia are not required to:
- Have a permit to purchase
- Have a permit to carry
- Have registration of firearms
- Have licensing of owners
Virginia law also does not require handgun owners to have a permit to purchase, registration of firearms, or licensing of owners. However, in the state of Virginia, you are required to have a permit to carry a handgun.
More Gun Laws in Virginia
Some additional gun laws in the Commonwealth of Virginia that you should be aware of are as follows:
- It is unlawful to carry a handgun concealed in Virginia.
- Generally, it is illegal to possess “sawed-off” shotguns.
- Anyone under the age of 18 may not own or use a handgun, unless with a parent or guardian.
- If you’ve been convicted of a felony, you may not own any sort of firearm.
- You will face criminal penalties for discharging a gun in or across any road.
- Anyone in possession of a firearm while committing a violent or drug-related offense will face up to 3 years of incarceration. For a second or subsequent offense, they will face up to 5 years of incarceration.
- If you’ve been acquitted for a crime by reason of insanity and placed in a mental institution, you may not own or use a firearm.
- You cannot own or use a firearm if you have a protective order against you on the basis of family abuse.
Contact a Richmond Gun Crimes Attorney
The state of Virginia takes the unlawful possession, use, and sale of firearms very seriously, and our firm is here to protect you from any potential repercussions you may face. Contact James A. Bullard Jr. P.C. to schedule your initial consultation with our experienced legal team today.