If you were charged with robbery, it is in your best interest to retain the services of an experienced Richmond criminal defense attorney. We are on your side.
What is robbery?
It is important to recognize that robbery does not just suggest the simple theft of an item. It does not necessarily include breaking and entering, and the victim must be present. In order for a robbery to occur, the alleged must actually steal property from another person. It must take place in the victim’s presence and against the victim’s will. The property is stolen through force, intimidation, or violence. It could be as easy as a classroom bully balling his fist and saying, “Give me your pencil,” or it could be as extreme as using a shotgun to rob a bank. To learn more, give our firm a call today.
What are the consequences of robbery in Virginia?
You will want to recognize that robbery is believed to be a felony in Virginia, which indicates that penalties for this conviction are severe. They generally include the following:
- First-degree Robbery: 10 years to life in prison
- Second-degree Robbery: 5 to 10 years in prison
- Armed Robbery: This charge has a minimum of at least 8 years in prison, depending on the case. The robbery could be a second-degree offense, which is a minimum of 5 years. If the alleged robber was armed at the time, an extra 3 years are added to the sentence, making the entire sentence 8 years.
How is burglary different than robbery?
Keep in mind that burglary does not have to involve theft. If a person illegally enters a property with the intention of committing a crime, they are committing burglary. It is important to note the terms “for the purposes of committing a crime.” This indicates that the crime does not have to be a major, heinous action. In the event that an individual is entering a dwelling to do something illegal, whether that be vandalism or arson, they are committing burglary.
The three different categories of burglary include the following:
- Statutory Burglary: Generally considered a Class 2 or Class 3 felony, depending on the circumstances. Class 3, the lower of the two, is punishable by up to 20 years in jail and fines of up to $100,000. The higher of the two, Class 2, can be punished with life in prison and fines also up to $100,000.
- Common-Law Burglary: This is a Class 6 felony, the lowest of Virginia’s felonies. It is punishable by up to 5 years in prison and fines of up to $2,500.
- Burglary with a Deadly Weapon: This is a Class 2 felony. Like Statutory burglary, the accused can be sentenced to up to 20 years in prison and fines of up to $100,000.
Contact Our Firm
Led by Attorney James A. Bullard Jr., we handle various criminal and traffic cases, including reckless driving tickets, DUIs, violent crimes, drug crimes, and so much more. Contact James A. Bullard Jr. P.C. today to get started on your defense.