Reach out to our firm today to learn more about gun laws in Virginia. Our skilled Richmond gun crimes attorney is here to help.
Will I need an attorney if I am facing gun charges in Virginia?
If you are currently encountering the consequences of a gun crime, there is a very high likelihood that you will face jail time, high fines, and other criminal penalties that can drastically shape your life for years to come. Our Richmond criminal defense attorney is here to fight your charges at every turn.
What are Virginia’s gun laws?
In the state of Virginia, you will want to recognize that it is a persistent supporter of gun laws. According to the Virginia state constitutional provision, Article 1, Section 13, “A well-regulated militia, composed of the body of the people, trained to arms, is the proper, natural, and safe defense of a free state, therefore, the right of the people to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed; that standing armies, in time of peace, should be avoided as dangerous to liberty; and that in all cases the military should be under strict subordination to, and governed by, the civil power.”
You will want to note that when it comes to shotguns and rifles, citizens of Virginia are not mandated to:
- Have a permit to purchase
- Have a permit to carry
- Have registration of firearms
- Have licensing of owners
- Virginia law also does not require handgun owners to have a permit to purchase, registration of firearms, or licensing of owners. However, in the state of Virginia, you are required to have a permit to carry a handgun.
There are also some other gun laws in Virginia that you should note, including the following:
- It is unlawful to carry a handgun concealed in Virginia.
- Commonly, it is illegal to possess “sawed-off” shotguns.
- Anyone under the age of 18 may not own or use a handgun, unless with a parent or guardian.
- If you were convicted of a felony, you may not possess any firearm.
- You will face criminal penalties for discharging a gun on or across any road.
- Anyone in possession of a firearm while committing a violent or drug-related offense will face up to 3 years of incarceration. For a second or subsequent offense, they will face up to 5 years of incarceration.
- If you’ve been pardoned for a crime by reason of insanity and placed in a mental institution, you may not possess or use a firearm.
- You are unable to own or use a firearm if you have a protective order against you on the grounds of family abuse.
Contact Our Firm
Led by Attorney James A. Bullard Jr., we handle various criminal and traffic cases, including reckless driving tickets, DUIs, violent crimes, drug crimes, and so much more. Contact James A. Bullard Jr. P.C. today to get started on your defense.